Announcing our 2025 ASNR Award Winners and Diversity Fellows

Each year, we recognize leaders who are making exceptional contributions to the field of neurorehabilitation, as well as promising trainees and early-career professionals, with awards at our Annual Meeting. We are excited to announce the recipients of this year's Fellow of the American Society of Neurorehabilitation (FASNR), Outstanding Neurorehabilitation Clinician-Scientist Award, and Diversity Travel Fellowships, as well as highlight the finalists for our Presidential Abstract Award and our Fletcher H. McDowell Abstract Award. Awards will be presented to recipients during our ASNR Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia, April 23 - 25, 2025.

2025 Fellow of the American Society of Neurorehabilitation (FASNR)

Ela Plow, PT, PhD, has been awarded the prestigious title of Fellow of the American Society of Neurorehabilitation for her significant contributions to the field of neurorehabilitation and to ASNR. The FASNR distinction dates back to 2008 when it was first bestowed upon two of ASNR's founding members Norman Namerow, MD, and Fletcher McDowell, MD. Dr. Plow will become our organization's thirtieth Fellow. We are pleased to recognize her many contributions to ASNR, including the notable impacts she has had by participating in multiple ASNR Committees. Currently, Dr. Plow is Chair of our Education Committee. She has demonstrated her dedication to mentorship and supporting the development of technical and career skills for neurorehabilitation professionals through this role and also



in other mentorship and service endeavors. In her positions as Associate Staff at the Cleveland Clinic and Director of Research at Cleveland Clinic Rehabilitation Hospitals, Dr. Plow is shaping and advancing the field of neurorehabilitation through her research leadership role, as well as her successful research program investigating movement control, neuroplasticity, and neurorecovery using functional neuroimaging, non-invasive stimulation, and rehabilitation approaches.

2025 Outstanding Neurorehabilitation Clinician-Scientist (ONCS) Award

Heidi Schambra, MD, is this year's recipient of our Outstanding Neurorehabilitation Clinician-Scientist Award. This award honors scholarly achievements and contributions to advancing our knowledge of the mechanisms of neural repair, translational research from mechanisms of repair to clinical practice, and/or clinical neurorehabilitation. Our ONCS Award was first presented in 2008, and Dr. Schambra will be the sixteenth recipient. As a tenured Associate Professor of Neurology and Rehabilitation Medicine and Associate Chair of Research Strategy in Neurology at New York University Langone, Dr. Schambra has substantially advanced our understanding of the mechanisms and neural pathways involved in recovery after stroke, as well as developed innovative technologies to



enhance the delivery and tracking of rehabilitation therapies. The combination of these two research areas has resulted in the development of well-designed therapies, rooted in rigorous scientific evidence, that are enhancing clinical neurorehabilitation and quality of life in individuals with stroke. Dr. Schambra has also been heavily involved in ASNR as former Chair of the Education Committee, a current member of our Board of Directors, and a new member of our Executive Committee as incoming Program Chair.

2025 Diversity Travel Fellows

Established in 2021, the Diversity Fellowship Travel Grant supports underrepresented individuals in neurorehabilitation by providing meeting travel support and complimentary registration for three consecutive years. In the final year of the Fellowship, each Diversity Fellow serves as a mentor to a first-year Fellow. The mentorship component of this fellowship is designed to provide opportunities for Diversity Fellows to develop meaningful, sustained relationships within ASNR and make the most of their experience at the Annual Meeting.

We are pleased to select three new Diversity Travel Fellows this year:



Fisayo Aloba



J. Sebastian Correa



Alejandra Cardenas Rojas

- Fisayo Aloba, PT, DPT (Doctoral Candidate, Emory University)
- J. Sebastian Correa (Doctoral Student, Case Western Reserve University)
- Alejandra Cordenas Rojas, MD, (Resident Physician, Johns Hopkins University)

2025 Abstract Award Finalists

From the pool of submitted abstracts, ASNR selects finalists for two annual abstract awards. To be considered for the awards, an individual must be a student, resident, post-doctoral fellow, or a clinician within five years of training, and they must be the senior author on the abstract.

<u>The ASNR Presidential Award</u> is given to the finalist with the best basic science abstract. It was created to encourage early-career clinicians and/or investigators enrolled in training programs relevant to neurorehabilitation to engage in rigorous basic science research. The recipient will receive a \$500 stipend.

<u>The Fletcher H. McDowell Award</u> is presented to the finalist with the best clinical science abstract. This award honors Dr. McDowell, a physician, scholar, champion of neurorehabilitation and one of the founders of ASNR. It was established to recognize early-career clinicians and/or

investigators enrolled in training programs relevant to neurorehabilitation who are conducting high-quality clinical research.

The finalists below are invited to present their abstract in our oral abstracts session during the Annual Meeting. A panel of judges will make the final selections for the winners of the Presidential Award and the Fletcher H. McDowell Award, based on their oral presentations.







Uttara Khatri



Aviva Pollet



Alex Remsik, PhD, MSc



Rachana Gangwani, PT, MS, PhD



Callen Maupin, PT, DPT

- Mengdi Wang, PT, DPT (Physical Therapist/PhD Student, Texas Woman's University)
 Abstract Title: Neurophysiological Changes Associated with Gait Recovery in Incomplete Spinal
 Cord Injury: A Preliminary Analysis of TMS Measures
- <u>Uttara Khatri</u> (PhD Candidate, The University of Texas at Austin)
 Abstract Title: Personalized poststroke brain state-dependent TMS targeting the residual corticospinal tract is feasible
- <u>Aviva Pollet</u> (PhD Student, University of Colorado, Boulder)
 Abstract Title: Repetitive Intermittent Hypoxia Exposure Increases Serum BDNF Concentration and Corticospinal Excitability to the Lower Limb
- <u>Alex Remsik, PhD</u> (Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Wisconsin-Madison)
 Abstract Title: Low Intensity Muscle Stimulation from Non-Invasive Brain-Computer Interface
 Device Improves Poststroke Brain and Behavior Measures
 - Rachana Gangwani, PT, MS, PhD (Postdoctoral Fellow, Jefferson Moss Rehabilitation Research Institute)

Abstract Title: Impact of Cognitive Load on Brain-Muscle Functional Connectivity Post-stroke

• <u>Callen Maupin, PT, DPT</u> (PhD Student, University of Minnesota)
Abstract Title: Characteristics of Transcranial Magnetic Stimulation Responses in the Trunk
Muscles of People with Parkinson's Disease

We look forward to celebrating all award winners and Fellows during our upcoming 2025 ASNR Annual Meeting, and we hope to see you there!